Dylan Ireland | Every Other Night


1. When It Goes
2. Every Other Night
3. Silver Screen
4. Downtown Habit
5. Home (Interlude)
6. Time And Again
7. Stranger
8. Behind The Scenes
9. Hard Enough
10. On The Run
11. Peterborough


Propelled by raw lyricism and earthy production, Dylan Ireland’s
debut solo album Every Other Night is a powerful statement from an
artist ready to carve out new folk-rock terrain.
Co-produced by Ireland and James McKenty (Blue Rodeo, Michelle
McAdorey, Matthew Barber), Every Other Night’s stellar cast of
contributors includes guitarists Jim Bryson and Gord Tough (Kathleen
Edwards), drummer Loel Campbell (Wintersleep) and bassist Anna
Ruddick (Daniel Romano, Bry Webb, Randy Bachman).
Standout tracks like “Hard Enough” rumble with the force of Kings Of
Leon and recent Springsteen, providing the foundation for Ireland’s
gripping vocals. Elsewhere, the rough and ready twang of “Time And
Again” reimagines classic Americana, much like Ryan Adams did
upon leaving his band Whiskeytown.
The Peterborough ON-based Ireland has already made his mark on
the Canadian music scene through his former band Express And
Company. Their 2013 album, Ontario, contained the single “Carry
Me Along,” which received heavy airplay on CBC Radio and helped
land showcases.
Overall, Every Other Night marks a new phase in Ireland’s musical
evolution as a solo artist. As Blue Rodeo’s Greg Keelor told him, why
have a band when you’ve got a rock star name?